Tags

, , , ,

NATIONAL RESPECT DAY

R – E – S – P – E – C – T, find out what it means to me. Today’s holiday is part of a campaign by the Futures Without Violence non-profit organization. They are focused on creating a happy and healthy home environment. One of their main objectives is helping women and children who are victims of domestic abuse. They are also working on not perpetuating the cycle of violence by encouraging all parents to set a good example for their children. I am luckily in a happy marriage and have never had to experience the things many many women go through. Today I signed the pledge against violence to help celebrate the spirit of the holiday:

I look at this pledge as not just a committment against physical disrespect, but also verbal and emotional. Sometimes, words can be more powerful and destructive than fists. I want Roman to grow up with good role models so he will know how to properly respect all the hundreds of women he is going to date. Yeah, he’s going to be a player….but a nice one.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

WIFE APPRECIATION DAY

Well, since I don’t have a wife, it was a little difficult for me to celebrate today’s holiday. Believe me, I was not shy about informing Rich about today’s special day though. The first words out of my mouth this morning were as follows, “Please please please let me sleep in just a little longer. It’s Wife Appreciation Day!” Heck yes I take advantage where I can! He, of course, graciously said okay and woke up with Roman. I have such a nice husband! I only slept in for about 10 extra minutes, but when I awoke Rich made me coffee and brought me a delicious donut from yesterday’s trip to the cider mill. As he handed them to me he said, “I appreciate you.” Do I have it made, or what? Thank you husband for helping me celebrate today’s holiday. I appreciate you too…AND respect you!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Song of the Day:

What else? Respect by Aretha Franklin. It’s a true classic:

P.S. – In case you hadn’t noticed, I was celebrating Big Whopper Liar Day yesterday with my little fib about my blog being shut down. Thanks for all the support though! I am happy that so many of you enjoy reading about my daily exploits.

