Tags

, , , ,

CONSTITUTION DAY / PLEDGE ACROSS AMERICA DAY

On September 17, 1787, the Constitution of the United States was signed and ratified by the Founding Fathers. In 2011, Constitution Day is observed on today’s date, September 16. To celebrate this holiday, I found a few interesting facts about the U.S. Constitution:

  • The U.S. Constitution has 4,400 words. It is the oldest and shortest written Constitution of any major government in the world.
  • Of the spelling errors in the Constitution, “Pensylvania” above the signers’ names is probably the most glaring.
  • Because of his poor health, Benjamin Franklin needed help to sign the Constitution. As he did so, tears streamed down his face.
  • The oldest person to sign the Constitution was Benjamin Franklin (81). The youngest was Jonathan Dayton of New Jersey (26).
  • When the Constitution was signed, the United States’ population was 4 million. It is now more than 309 million.
  • The word “democracy” does not appear once in the Constitution.

I also took a mini quiz to test my knowledge on some facts that technically all Americans should know. I was not anticipating a good outcome, history is not topping my list of favorite subjects. Here are my results:

Hey, look at me! I’m smarter than the average bear! Today is also Pledge Across America Day. I am not completely sure if this is still a ‘real’ holiday or not because the latest info I found on it was from 2009. The purpose of this holiday is to have all the schoolchildren across the U.S. recite the Pledge of Allegiance at the same time. I’m not about to get into a political/religious debate here, but from what I have heard the Pledge is no longer said in schools. I’m not saying this is right or wrong, but I know when I was in elementary school we said it every single morning. Whether this event was happening or not, I participated. The time for me to say the Pledge of Allegiance was 2pm EST. I did exactly that with my snazzy flag sticker above my heart:

Here is the flag that is outside of our office. I could sort of see it if I smooshed my face against my window:

As I get older I appreciate the things I am learning each day with these holidays. I am sure we most likely thoroughly studied the Constitution in school, but my brain has since moved that information aside to fit more important things…..things like where the heck did I leave my keys?

Total Cost to Celebrate: $2 for my flag stickers

Clip of the Day:

Well, this was an easy one:

P.S.  – Very nice interpretation. Why do I have the feeling if everyone watched this clip we would all have a new opinion on what it means to say the Pledge of Allegiance?

