Tags

, , ,

VIDEO GAMES DAY

I still remember the first day we got our Nintendo. It….was…..AWESOME. We sat down in the basement and played Duck Hunt and Super Mario Brothers for hours. Nintendo was the first gaming system we had. We actually got an Atari after that. I know, that doesn’t really make sense but I’m fairly sure my mom got it at a garage sale. I must have a quick shout out to my brother and reminisce about that stupid Hide and Seek Atari game we were obsessed with because of the pure fact that it was impossibly ridiculous. Wow, I still think back on that game and just have to wonder….why?? Later on we got a Sega Genesis. Oh Mortal Combat, I love you. I still love playing that game, it is one of the few games that I took the time to learn all the moves. Rich and I presently have a Nintendo, Sega Genesis, Playstation 2 and a Nintendo Wii. Not going to lie, we don’t really play any of them too much. Well, I play Just Dance every so often as you all were blessed with witnessing several weeks ago. Rich goes through phases with his game playing. Neither of us are by any means ‘gamers’ though, not by a long shot. I like playing video games just as much as I did when I was younger, but I also like to do a lot of other things more. Even when I was a kid I would still play outside much more frequently than playing video games. Rich and I have discussed the fact that we do not want Roman to become one of those kids that never sees the light of day because he is overly consumed with killing virtual zombies. I am perplexed by all these kids, and adults for that matter, than can waste their lives away in their alternate universes. I suppose it makes them happy though, so to each their own. Rich and I played a little Super Mario Brothers today to celebrate:

Uh oh, looks like we are creating a monster already. He’s got that crazed look in his eyes…….

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Clip of the Day:

Donkey Kong discussion from Billy Madison:

 

P.S. – I have to concur that Donkey Kong does indeed suck. It’s lame.

