Tags

, , ,

SWAP IDEAS DAY

Well, today’s holiday explains itself. It is a day to swap ideas with others. This can mean a lot of different things so I was not sure how I should celebrate. After giving it some thought, I decided to finally explore the outside blogging world. Outside meaning blogs other than those of people I personally know. Isn’t that what blogging is all about, learning new things? Actually most of them are about people talking about themselves (myself included), but there are a lot out there that are sharing fantastic ideas. I looked through many different genres: food, photography, humor, entertainment…..there are blogs for everything. I found myself spending more time in the DIY section. I have always thought of myself as a somewhat crafty person. I have dabbled in scrapbooking, frame decorating, card making, all kinds of stuff. Hey, that’s why I got a sewing machine! I thought I was going to be the next Martha Stewart. My problem is that I don’t have conviction with any of this stuff. I get bored, lose interest and move on to the next shiny penny. Currently, I am very into vintage clothing. Etsy is my lifeblood right now, I’m obsessed. I have purchased about 6 or 7 vintage dresses in the last week and I’m absolutely infatuated. In my meanderings through the Wordpress universe, I stumbled upon this blog: http://refashionista.net/. LOVE IT! I promptly subscribed and read all the posts from July 1st through today. I aspire to be able to do things like this. I go through a phase every so often where I tell myself I want to change up my style or image or whatever I feel like mixing up that day. I typically do this by chopping off or coloring my hair, but I am ready to do it more with my clothing choices. I am looking forward to using my holiday adventures as an excuse to try new things in the wide world of fashion. By finding this new blog, I now have zillions of ideas on how to repurpose older clothes of mine or buy things from thrift stores and transform them into awesomeness! So, if you see me wearing some fancy new duds, feel free to let me know if you think it’s a thumbs up or a hell no ensemble. I can take it. Now that I have found some new ideas, I hope that other people are using my blog as a way to celebrate the fun things in life. I am overjoyed when people send me pictures of them participating in the daily holidays, keep ’em coming!!!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Clip of the Day:

I typed Swap Shop into YouTube and this is what popped up…..perfection.

 

P.S. – I especially enjoy the dancing dinosaurs. Not random at all.

