Tags

, , ,

GRANDMA MOSES DAY

On her 100th birthday on September 7, 1960, New York Governor Nelson Rockefeller proclaimed the day “Grandma Moses Day” in her honor. Grandma Moses was even featured on the cover of LIFE magazine in honor of her birthday:

I had heard of Grandma Moses before today, but I did not really know too much about her and her history. The best thing I found out about her is that she didn’t start painting until she was in her seventies. That goes to show everyone that you really can find your true passion at any point in your life. She is a real inspiration and a truly wonderful person at heart. She was an American Folk artist whose exhibitions were so popular they broke attendance records all over the world. Her paintings mostly depicted rural life and were often used to publicize American holidays such as Christmas, Thanksgiving and Mother’s Day. During her three decade long painting career, Grandma Moses created over 3,600 canvas paintings. When she first started painting she would sell her pieces for $3 to $5 dollars depending on the size. In 2008, her work Sugaring Off, sold for a whooping $1.2 million dollars. Talk about inflation! Grandma Moses was honored by the USPS in 1969 by releasing a commemorative stamp featuring her artwork. I was fortunate enough to find one of these lovely stamps transformed into a nifty necklace. Here is my newest jewel:

Fancy, huh? I am not really sure when else I can wear this and it not be strange, but I like it anyhow. Grandma Moses lived to be 101 years old and she is a true American icon. Happy 151st Birthday, Grandma Moses!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $11

SALAMI DAY

Did you know that the process of making salami takes 36 weeks? I had never really thought about exactly what salami was or how it was made until today. I found out some good info to share. Salami was historically popular with peasants because it can be stored at room temperature for up to 10 years. 10 years? That doesn’t seem healthy. Salami is actually never cooked, it is cured and fermented. It is cured in warm and humid environments to encourage the growth of bacteria. The casing for salami is often treated with a mold for flavoring and to prevent spoilage. Mold and bacteria….yum! I think it’s safe to say this will be the last time I research any sort of meat product I eat. Let’s just say if we have a Bologna Day coming up, I will definitely be passing on the Wikipedia peek into that one. To celebrate today’s holiday I had every intention of making an antipasto salad myself. Although lately I have not been feeling the greatest so I took the easy way out and ordered one instead. Luckily, antipasto salad is a staple item for any pizza place. Here is the perfectly made salad, delivered right to my door:

It was good and I especially enjoyed the salami. Yes, I did the research after I ate it. I had a feeling I didn’t especially want to know what I was consuming. It’s not all that bad I suppose. I mean, if something can last 10 years that’s saying something……something kinda gross, but something.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $6

Clip of the Day:

Salami scene from The Office. Oh, Michael Scott. The Office is not the same without you.

http://www.hulu.com/watch/235587/the-office-michael-the-walking-salami

 

P.S. – Is anyone still watching this show? I fell off the wagon awhile ago.

