Tags

, , , ,

ANOTHER LOOK UNLIMITED DAY

Today’s holiday is supposed to encourage you to look for things around your house that you can give away or donate. It’s also a day to look at the things you throw away and determine if they can be recycled or repurposed in another way. I used today’s celebration to do something I have needed to do for awhile……go through my shoes. Now, some (Rich) may say that I have a little bit of a compulsion when it comes to things like shoes, tank tops and underwear. In my mind, these are all objects that you can never have too many of….for real! I choose to spend my disposable income on this stuff and it makes me happy. Just as a precursor to all the shoes that will soon overtake your screens, I am a bargain shopper. I have learned from the best, my mother, that trolling the clearance racks is where it’s at. So, although I have a lot of stuff, I’m not breaking the bank or in debt of any sort. Now that you all know my dirty little secret, here is *most* of my shoe collection (I have about 12 other pairs of flip flops, a bunch of sandals, snow boots and some other random shoes that I did not want to gather up for the photo op).

These are the shoes that are in our front closet….yes, I have overtaken it as you can see:

My beloved Converse. You will have to pry these from my cold dead hands before I give any of these up:

 

Oh, that’s not all, friends! Here is my shoe rack in our bedroom:

So, I’ve laid it all out there….literally. Now comes the time to cut the fat. I had a hard time with some of these, but in the end I know that it is for the best. I am proud to announce that I have chosen 16 pairs of shoes that will either be donated or given away to the first person who shows interest. Here are the losers of the day:

There are 4 pairs that I feel are very worthwhile and I am willing to hold onto for anyone that would want them. They are all size 8:

The boots have never been worn. I got these online at some ridiculous rock bottom price from DSW and when then arrived I quickly realized they were not for me. They are just too tall and chunky, but maybe someone else can handle them. The silver shoes were my bridesmaid shoes from Rachel’s wedding. They are super cute, but they destroyed my feet for the 2 hours I wore them. Good pair of shoes for a wedding function though. The plaid flats from Target are hard for me to give up, but they just don’t fit. They are size 8 like I said above, but they are tight. So, if you are a 7.5 or even a 7 you may be able to rock these bad boys. Last but not least, my red backless shoes. I am honestly still on the fence about these ones. I told myself to let them go, but if no one takes them from me I may just hold onto them. They are very pretty BCBG Girls shoes and they are quite comfortable. I am choosing to give them away because I never wear them. Part of our professional dress code at work (when we actually have to dress up) is that we have to wear nylons. The problem with these shoes is that they slip right off your feet if you have nylons or tights on. So, I am saying goodbye. If you are interested in any of these, please let me know asap. I will hold onto these 4 pairs for a few weeks and then donate them with the rest if no one scoops ’em up. To be fair, I will honor the first person to inquire about these via the blog comments. That way others can see if they have been taken yet or not.

As difficult as it is to give things up sometimes, it’s a good feeling in the end. Plus, now I have tons of room for new shoes!!! (Insert Rich rolling his eyes here.)

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

I saw on Google today that it is Freddie Mercury’s 65th birthday. In honor of him, please enjoy this clip that chronicles all of Queen’s Top 10 hits:

 

P.S. – Looks like Mr. Mercury was quite the clothes/shoes fanatic too. Seriously though, Freddie Mercury was and still is fabulous.

