Tags

, , ,

NEWSPAPER CARRIER DAY

Here is the info I found about today’s holiday:

Newspaper Carrier Day honors everyone  who is now, or once was, a newspaper carrier. The list includes thousands, if not millions, of people. Years ago, this job was primarily populated by kids, from pre-teen through approximately sixteen. At that age, many, but not all, kids moved to restaurant, grocery store and retail type of jobs.”

I found this to be quite funny because it describes my employment history exactly. I was a newspaper carrier for many years when I was younger. I started when I was in the 5th grade and continued on until 10th grade. It was my first job, delivering The Livonia Observer. My route consisted of my street and another side street. I think I had around 30 – 35 customers and delivered the paper twice a week. I collected payment once a month. If my memory serves me right, I believe the monthly rate was about $3.60 or so, give or take a few cents. My main source of income from the paper route was tips. So, I especially liked my customers who would give me a $5 and not ask for any change. I was raking it in! Making a generous $30 bucks or so a month is pretty sweet for an 11 year old. Plus, the paper offered incentives to us kid carriers. I think we earned ‘Observer Bucks’ somehow and we could trade them in for prizes. I saved mine up and got an awesome 13″ television. This was a MAJOR event in my world. My very own tv??? I was beside myself at the time. The best thing about that is I kept that tv all the way through college. I earned it so it meant something I suppose. After my newspaper career ended, I moved onto working at the local Big Boy when I was 14 years and 9 months (the youngest age to legally hold a job in Michigan). Yep, I started that job at minimum wage, $4.75 at the time. Then after that job I started working retail at Staples. Basically following the timeline laid out above, was I a cliché or what? I’m glad that I started earning my own money so young, it has helped me appreciate the value of a dollar. Ahhh…..the good old days. I just realized how old this story makes me sound……

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

OATMEAL DAY

Rich and I went through a huge oatmeal kick a year or so ago. We would eat it constantly. Not the instant packets either, the quick cooking oats with our own special combo of ingredients. Oatmeal Day gave me a reason to conjure up a delicious breakfast for us. Here is what you need to whip up the perfect bowl of oatmeal:

Butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, half & half and vanilla…..how could this not be a winning combination?? The key is to use A LOT of butter and sugar. Is anyone surprised that by adding those two ingredients it makes everything fantastic? I think not. Here is the finished product, it takes much better than it looks:

Roman even got to enjoy some. Although I did pare down the amount of badness in his bowl. He’s not fully addicted to sugar yet and I’d like to try to keep it that way for a little bit longer at least. Notice the oatmeal all over his sleeve, he kept wiping his mouth with his arm for some reason:

Even Roxy liked the oatmeal!

Oatmeal is one of the easiest things to make and it always seems to hit the spot. Now that Fall is upon us (YAY!), a hot breakfast is even more comforting. I will be preparing oatmeal more now that Roman can eat it too. Maybe I can even try some new flavor combos. Any suggestions out there??

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – already had all the supplies!

Clip of the Day:

Funny parody of the totally rad Nintendo game, Paperboy.

http://FunnyOrDie.com/m/34m5

P.S. – I can’t decide what is a more obscure obstacle, the tire or the random sidewalk breakdancer???

