Tags

, ,

THE DUCHESS WHO WASN’T DAY

Today we remember author Margaret Wolfe Hungerford. She published many novels under the pseudonym ‘The Duchess’, although she was not actually a duchess. Therefore, we get the origin of today’s holiday. Ms. Hungerford is most known for the line, “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” This is from her book Molly Bawn. There is not really an easy way to celebrate today’s holiday other than using her famous quote, which I have done. I thought about exactly what this phrase means and it struck me that it really is a true statement. Anything can be beautiful, it all depends on what it is and who is looking at it. I’m sure that Roman probably finds a lot more things beautiful than I do. In fact, I know that he does. He is utterly fascinated with things like the phone jack, my flip flops, cat toys, you name it. As he gets older he will discover other things that are more interesting and forget all about these strange objects that he currently adores.

I find this line to be even more accurate as people become adults. For example, you know when you get to know someone and if they are a good and genuine person on the inside then they appear more beautiful on the outside? Or, in the opposite case, they are ugly on the inside and suddenly you see their true colors reflected on the outside? I see this theory a lot with art too. There are all different varieties of art that is beautiful to some people and meaningless to others. I remember when Rich and I went to the MoMA in New York. Rich did not ‘get’ any of the modern art. I was a little jaded by some of it too, I mean I can paint a dot on a canvas just as well so I didn’t see what the big deal was all about. But, I knew that this was someone’s passion and they created that piece of art with emotion and it meant something to them. So, whenever you see something you think is ugly, just remember that there is certainly someone else out there that finds it to be absolutely grand.

 

Clip of the Day:

The plastic bag scene from American Beauty. I thought this was a good example of how ‘Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.’

 

P.S. – Such intensity over a plastic bag. I wonder what would happen if this dude saw the Grand Canyon or the Sistine Chapel or something like that……I think his head might explode.

 

