Tags

, , ,

WATERMELON DAY

I may be one of the very few people on the planet, according to my husband at least, that does not like watermelon. I don’t know what it is about it, probably a combination of the taste and the texture, but I’m just not into it. It’s not that I dislike it so much that I won’t eat a piece or two when it’s in a fruit salad, but I just don’t get the appeal. I can even state that I like honeydew better than watermelon and that’s saying a lot. To celebrate Watermelon Day, I tried to think of something fun to do other than eat it. You all have seen me eat a lot of stuff already, the thrill is gone. One thing I do enjoy about watermelons are the way they look. The colors are so vivid and pretty, it’s very nice to look at. Building upon that thought, I started to look at how to create watermelon art. Well, there are some amazing things you can do with a watermelon. That is if you have about an hour or two of time to kill and extremely precise special carving knives. I had neither of those two items. I did some searching and found a little video on how to make a watermelon basket. Alright I think I can handle this one, looks easy enough.

Here is what I started with, a cute little personal watermelon:

 

I marked the pattern on the watermelon and then I cut out the two side chunks:

I then carved out the handle and scooped out the inside:

 

As a final touch of flair, I made a scalloped edge:

 

We had some fresh berries in the fridge, so I filled up my edible basket. It’s pretty darn perfect if I do say so myself:

 

I was extremely proud of how this turned out and it only took about 10 minutes!!! Martha Stewart better watch out.

 

After all this was said and done I tried a bite of the watermelon just to see if my tastes have changed…..still tastes like yuck.

 

Total Cost to Celebrate: $3

 

Clip of the Day:

There were many to choose from: Gallagher’s sledge-o-matic, The Amazing Race chick getting smoked in the face by a watermelon, the cute baby inside the watermelon eating it, kitties and watermelons, the list goes on and on. I chose a scene from one of the greatest movies ever, just because I love it that much. For your viewing pleasure, nobody puts Baby in a corner (she carried a watermelon for crying out loud!):

 

P.S. – I carried a watermelon around for a while too, about 9 months to be exact.

 

