Tags

, , , ,

Carousel or Merry-Go-Round Day

I was having quite the conundrum about this holiday. I was trying to figure out where there was an easily accessible merry-go-round. They don’t have those old rickety ones on playgrounds anymore. No one wants children to have fun these days. I can see why they are probably dangerous, but c’mon anything can be dangerous if you really think about it. So, that option was out. I did an internet search and the nearest merry-go-rounds were at the Detroit Riverfront (not too interested in traveling down there during rush hour), Comerica Park (no home game happening today), Greenfield Village (they closed at 5pm….boo) and Great Lakes Crossing (driving for an hour each way just to go on the merry-go-round?? Not so much). Then it occurred to me….Dairy-Go-Round in Plymouth!! Ice cream AND a merry-go-round, I’m sold.

Now, I know this isn’t technically a real live moving ride, but it was as close as I was going to get on a Monday after work. If this holiday was on the weekend I probably would have made the trek to one of the other ones listed previously. Roman had kept asking where his horse was yesterday for Cowboy Day, better late than never:

 

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – I actually refrained from getting ice cream. Yes, miracles happen every day.

Thread the Needle Day

I decided to make this holiday part one of a two part celebration. October 15th is Felt Hat Day and since I’m obviously going to need a felt hat to wear, what better time to start making one than today! I found a free pattern online that looked easy enough for an extremely non-skilled seamstress like myself. First, I cut out all the pieces:

 

Then I sewed the edges to prevent fraying and embroidered the fancy design. Yep yep, I’m threading that needle baby!

Two comments about this picture. One, yes I have a sewing machine. I got it several birthdays ago when I became overly obsessed with Project Runway. New season starting this week!!!! You know where I’ll be Thursday night, carry on. Two, yes I am wearing my fish pajama pants. It is the first thing I do when I get home from work every single day. If I could live in pajama pants I would be one happy camper. Alright, I’m done side tracking. Here are my finished pieces:

Finally, here is the lovely felt hat:

High quality craftmanship right there. You will have to stay tuned to see me actually wearing it. October 15th, it’s Rich’s birthday. I told him he could look forward to me wearing this fashion statement all day. Allll right!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $5.30 for all the materials

Song of the Day:

Carousel by Blink 182. A lot of days when I know what I’m celebrating I sing a certain song in my head all day. Just like yesterday with the Cowboy dealio. Today it was this song, one of Blink’s best. Unfortunately they never made a real video for this song so we will have to settle for a live performance.

P.S. – Now I really want to go on a REAL merry-go-round!!

