Tags

, , , , ,

NATIONAL DAY OF THE COWBOY

Giddyup friends, it’s Cowboy Day….YEEEE HAWW! It seems like being a cowboy is a fun job. You get to ride a horse around all day, wear a big hat and carry a gun. Sounds amazing. I kept singing the Kid Rock song all day, “Because I wanna be a cowboy baby”. Well, here is literally a cowboy baby:

The hat was just a little large for him as you can see. Thanks Aunt Michele for the super cute cowboy onesie! It came in very handy for today’s holiday. I also joined in on the cowboy fun with Rowdy Roman, don’t mess with us:

Yes, that is the shotgun from our Wii. Hey, I get my props where I can. If it wasn’t glow in the dark orange it may actually have looked somewhat realistic.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $3

COUSINS DAY

We were lucky that Cousins Day fell on the day we were going to Rich’s family reunion. Rich got to see a lot of his cousins that he hasn’t seen in years and also meet some that he didn’t know he had. All of Rich’s sisters were there which meant all of their kids were there as well. I took this opportunity to get a picture with Roman and all of his cousins. This is truly all of the first cousins that he currently has, all together at the same time:

Roman loves all his cousins and he is lucky enough to see 3 out of 4 of them on a weekly basis. This day also reminded me that I needed to write a thank you note to my cousin for giving me another huge bag of clothes for Roman. Yay for having such generous cousins!!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

NATIONAL DRIVE-THRU DAY

Total Cost to Celebrate: $3.38 (Rich got an Iced Tea too)

TELL AN OLD JOKE DAY

A woman gets on a bus with her baby. The bus driver says: “Ugh, that’s the ugliest baby I’ve ever seen!” The woman walks to the rear of the bus and sits down, fuming. She says to a man next to her: “The driver just insulted me!” The man says: “You go up there and tell him off. Go on, I’ll hold your monkey for you.”

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

PARENTS’ DAY

I had never heard of Parents’ Day until today. It is supposed to be a ‘non-biased’ day for all parents. Okay then. It said that it is not a gift-giving holiday but rather a day to honor your parents. Luckily, I have this blog that I know both of my parents read, how convenient! I have a lot of love and respect for my parents. They have always supported me in all of my endeavors and given me a lot of encouragement along the way. It’s funny how when you grow up you realize exactly how much your parents have done for you. When you are a little punk teenager, you just think that they are trying to hold you back and ruin your life. Well, that’s not the case. Your parents knew what was best for you before you knew for yourself. That is how you learn, that is what I have learned at least. I know now that my parents gave me just the right amount of freedom as a child. I never was smothered (although if you would have asked me this 15 years ago you would have got a WAY different story) but I was given appropriate boundaries. I think I turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself. I hope that I can take what I learned from my parents and pass it down to my children. Thank you Mom and Dad for being awesome parents. I could not have made it through life without you (obviously). Now that I am grown, I still yearn for your love and support and it is always there when I need it. I love you!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

 

Song of the Day:

Cowboy by Kid Rock. Because I’m gonna be a cowboy baby, right?

P.S. – I too can smell a pig from a mile away….they smell like bacon.

