Tags

, , , ,

LEGAL DRINKING AGE DAY

The day you turn 21 in America is one of the best days of your life. Birthdays just go downhill after that; 21 is the peak of greatness. You are young, careless, and now you can legally get intoxicated – bonus! To celebrate this holiday I went and bought a bottle of wine and had a glass after my little man went down for sleepy time. I don’t want Roman to think Mommy is a lush just yet, he’s got a few years before he figures that one out. I tried to get the lady at the grocery store let me take a picture of her checking my ID, but I got shut down pretty quick. Kroger apparently thought I was a spy from Meijer trying to get the DL on all the inner workings of their biggest competitor…..if only my life was that glamorous (FYI – I just sang the Fergie song in my head to spell out G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S, wow.) Here is my glistening bottle of local wine, from Traverse City:

Enjoying a lovely chilled glass before bedtime, life is good!

I also thought I should include a picture of me on my 21st birthday. I had to scan it because this was before I had a digital camera, yes that makes me feel disturbingly old. On my 21st birthday we had a big party at our apartment at EMU. I was actually the only sober person present because I had a stomach flu that day so I could not drink, oh the irony! So, here I am young and blonde without a worry in the world:

 

Total Cost to Celebrate: $8  – As you can see by the large amount of money I spent on this bottle, I have extremely discerning tastes when it comes to wine.

 

GET TO KNOW YOUR CUSTOMERS DAY

Warning: this one is not too electrifying. Nothing like starting off with a disclaimer! Well, this holiday could have been more thrilling if I worked in a different field. I work in an industry where we sell services rather than products and we have clients rather than customers. All of these clients have very close working relationships with our professionals that have been built up over many many years. So, for me to go and start trying to yak it up with any of them out of the blue would be a big no no. In celebration of the holiday, I tried to think of other ways I could get to know our customers. I thought it would be a good idea to research some of our client’s companies in order to learn more about them. This is not only productive for today’s holiday, it is also helpful for me in my current position. Not too exciting like I said, but hey I’m still celebrating! Here I am doing some stimulating research (see my enthusiasm?):

This is basically how I look at work all day anyhow, nothing out of the norm here.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day: 

Blame it (On the Alcohol) by Jamie Foxx. Poor alcohol, everyone is always blaming it for all their problems.

P.S. – What in the world possessed Ron Howard to be in this video, am I missing something??

