Tags

, , , ,

NATIONAL GET OUT OF THE DOGHOUSE DAY

This seems like a holiday that is mainly aimed at men. Reason being they are the ones who are usually in the doghouse, not women. Maybe I’m just saying that because I am on the female side of the equation. Either way, I suppose there could be a few reasons why I may be in the doghouse with my hubby. Here is a list of things that I’m sure irritate Rich to no end:

  1. Leaving my hair in the shower drain. Although as I have explained to him on many occasions, it’s CLEAN hair, for some reason it still grosses him out. Can’t imagine why…..that furby looking critter in the shower isn’t making you feel all warm and fuzzy inside? Complaint noted.
  2. I hassle him about spending money a lot, but I just went and bought a new camera today that was a nice chunk of change. Foot inserted into mouth. I DID run this past him before making the purchase though, do I get brownie points for that?
  3. After getting into a minor tiff about the cleanliness of our house and doing chores, Rich cleaned for about 8 hours yesterday while I supervised Roman. This is all good and well, but when Roman went down for a nap so did Mom. Yes, I am lazy. (I was in an ice cream induced coma, remember?)

 So, dearest husband, please allow me to crawl out of the depths of the doghouse today and accept my sincerest apologizes for all my wrongdoings. I will take this opportunity to reflect on my behavior and correct my shortcomings….at least for the rest of the day.

 Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

MANDELA DAY

Mandela Day occurs every year on the birthday of Nelson Mandela. The purpose of the holiday is as follows (from the website): The overarching objective of Mandela Day is to inspire individuals to take action to help change the world for the better, and in doing so build a global movement for good. Ultimately it seeks to empower communities everywhere. “Take Action; Inspire Change; Make Every Day a Mandela Day”. Nelson Mandela was a very inspirational man who fought his entire life for human rights. To celebrate today’s holiday I participated in a work event to raise money for a very important cause. One of my co-workers organized a potluck lunch and fundraiser in honor of a friend of his who had recently endured a terrible tragedy. I will not put the details in this blog, but you can read about this horrific event from the news report:

Megan Roberts News Story

To help out where I could, I brought a dish to pass and donated money to help with medical bills. With all the generous people in our office, my co-worker was able to raise $750 today to donate to Megan’s family. We as humans can be selfless and it is a great thing and very inspiring when everyone can come together to help out someone in need. For more information, or if you would like to donate, please see the link below:

http://www.megansteam.com/Home_Page.html

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – I am not going to count any of the money spent on this as a ‘cost’ since it went for a good cause and I don’t want to take away from that fact.

 

GLOBAL HUG YOUR KID DAY

 This one was easy!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song/Clip of the Day:

Its gotta be Who Let the Dogs Out, right?? Instead of putting the super annoying video in here, I put the clip from The Hangover….classic.

P.S. – It’s not a man purse, it’s called a satchel.

