Tags

, , , ,

NATIONAL HOT DOG DAY

Tasty tubes of mushed up meat mixture, why do you taste so good? There is nothing better in the summer than a hot dog and a cold beer. It is an American tradition, like baseball and apple pie. I remember when I was younger we used to go over to Foodland after our summer swim lessons and get a hot dog, chips and a pop for a buck. I think they still do that actually, that’s amazing because you really can’t get anything for a dollar anymore. In order to properly celebrate this national holiday, I decided to go all out and got the footlong frankfurters because bigger = better. *Insert inappropriate ‘that’s what she said’ here*. I couldn’t help myself….. Anyhow, here is Rich grilling up our dogs:

The finished product, I was impressed:

Oh yes, as I said before, I’m easily amused. The hot dogs were great though. Too bad we didn’t hit up a Tigers game today. That would have been the ultimate celebration, hot dogs always taste better at the ball park.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $7

COW APPRECIATION DAY

I love me some cow. I like cows as animals and as food. I guess you can say I appreciate them in both capacities. They are nice, calm and not too shabby looking animals. They also provide us with a lot of different types of meat as well as giving us milk. So many reasons to love cows! I didn’t really know how to celebrate this holiday to be honest. I looked it up on the internet and it appears that Cow Appreciation Day was last Saturday….hmmm…..this is the problem with looking up all these holidays, all sites have things just a little bit different. It looks like the restaurant chain Chick-fil-A was the group sponsoring this event last Saturday. Well that explains it, there are no Chick-fil-A’s in Michigan. I have never actually eaten at one because the one time I had the chance was on a Sunday in Maryland and all Chick-fil-A’s are closed every Sunday. I found that to be odd. I’m getting off topic here. I’m rambling about Chick-fil-A because Melissa sent me a cow from there as part of my celebration package. Here I am appreciating it:

Thanks Meliss! I tired to think of where there was a cow that I could go and show my love towards. It suddenly dawned on me that there is a cow that I see almost every day, the cow that is outside of Wilson Barn by Emerson Middle School. Roman and I trotted up there to tell Mr. Moo Cow (that’s what I deemed his name to be) how much he means to us:

No, he is not a real cow, but it’s the thought that counts in my world of celebrations. I also tried to teach Roman how to moo, I think he probably just thinks I’m even stranger that he originally suspected now.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

TOSS AWAY THE ‘COULD HAVES’ AND ‘SHOULD HAVES’ DAY

Coulda, woulda, shoulda…..the story of our lives. I, surprisingly, had a hard time thinking of things that I wanted to toss away for this holiday. I do not have any major regrets in my life so far (knock on wood) and I feel like the path I have traveled has been a good one. Everything happens for a reason, that is what I have always said. I guess the only biggie I could put into the ‘should have’ category would be we should have rented rather than bought when we were looking for a house 5 years ago. I am only saying that because of what happened with the housing market though and we obviously couldn’t have predicted that debacle. I still love my home and I still like living here. I’m NOT loving what has happened with our mortgage and value of our home, but I guess that’s what life lessons are all about. You live, you learn. Now we know that real estate is indeed a gamble, you don’t always win. I have come to the conclusion that once decisions are made in your life you have to commit to them and as Rich would say, deal with it! It’s not worth thinking of what could have happened because there is no such thing as a time machine…..yet.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Poll of the Day:

Since I couldn’t think of  good song or clip, I decided to try out this nifty polling feature. Please participate, you only get one vote though so choose wisely!

P.S. – Vote. I really want to see how this thing works.

