Tags

, , , ,

EMBRACE YOUR GEEKNESS DAY

In order to properly celebrate this holiday I looked up the true meaning of the word ‘geek’. I was a bit taken off guard when I saw definition #3:

1. a computer expert or enthusiast (a term of pride as self-reference, but often considered offensive when used by outsiders.)

2. a peculiar or otherwise dislikable person, especially one who is perceived to be overly intellectual.

3. a carnival performer who performs sensationally morbid or disgusting acts, as biting off the head of a live chicken.

Well, I will not be biting the heads off of anything so we can just ixnay that one right off the bat. I also did not want to be a dislikable person today, that seems to sort of defeat the purpose of my celebrations. So that left me with the standard, and most recognized, definition of geek: a computer expert. I can tell you right now, I’m no computer expert. Unless you ask my parents who have somehow deemed me as the go to contact when something goes wrong with their PC. Not sure where that one came from….but okay. I guess if you ask me questions about Microsoft programs like PowerPoint, Excel or even Access I can probably hold my own on that front. Beyond that, it’s all a big black hole of nothingness. Here I am attempting to embrace my geekness today at work:

Rich and I went and picked out a new laptop a few months ago. I was basically basing my decision on price and how pretty I thought it looked. Turns out all those ‘other’ things like memory and the processor and hard drive actually have an effect on the performance….who would have thunk? I guess we should have asked the Geek Squad a few more questions because our computer turned out to be a real dud. I am sure if we did ask a real geek we probably wouldn’t have understood what he was saying anyhow, we would have just nodded and said, “uh huh….yeah….oh, we definitely need that…..” Maybe it’s worth figuring out what some of these things actually mean. Learning from our previous buying mistake we ventured to Best Buy again, this time looking at new cameras (my current obsession). I did a little research before going in this time around. I figured out what the different megapixels meant and also which cameras would best suit my needs. The computer expert (geek) filled me in on some more tech savvy info and now I feel like I can make an informed choice. Thanks Geek Squad!

In today’s information age, the geeks rule the world. Seriously, that’s not just a figure of speech, they are quite literally running the world. Think about that and next time maybe be a little nicer to your neighborhood geek.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 

GRUNTLED WORKERS DAY

We have all heard of DISgruntled workers, but have you heard of gruntled workers? I certainly had not. The idea behind this holiday is to show gratitude for all the workers out there that never get any love. I’m sure everyone who is employed probably feels as if they are under appreciated, no one has someone patting their back every day telling them they are doing a first-rate job. That would get somewhat annoying if you ask me.
Plus, it would lose its meaning. The thing about being disgruntled is that a lot of workers have many many more bad days than good. They have to deal with people yelling at them, hanging the phone up on them, telling them they don’t know how to do their job…you get the picture. How many times have you told a telemarketer they were doing a good job? How many times have you been rude and said something not so nice or just hung up? That’s what I thought. I know as well as everyone else that those people are annoying, but that is their JOB….their livelihood. Sometimes we need to put that into perspective and realize that the person we are screaming at is actually a real PERSON. So be nice! To celebrate this holiday I thought of a few people that needed some recognition. I left a nice thank you note for the mail carrier (we all know how disgruntled they are! :-)) letting him know he is doing a fantastic job:

 

I gave our Receptionist, Missy, a lovely thank you letter as well. She is one of the hardest workers in the office, but instead of people saying thanks every so often, she typically only hears from people when something goes wrong. She was very happy to receive the card and she said it made her day. Yay!

(Bad pic, I know…..stupid crappy camera….)

Lastly, we ventured over to the local Sonic for some shakes after our trip to Best Buy and I thought it would be a good plan to reward the fast food worker. I’m sure they don’t get too many people giving them a lot of respect, much less gratitude. What is the best reward for a job well one? Why a hearty Thank You and a Justin Bieber sticker!


It’s nice to be nice, it makes your day better as well as everyone else’s. This is where we all need to remember the golden rule: One should treat
others as one would like others to treat oneself.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – yes, I already had the Justin Bieber stickers…..shocker.

 

Song of the Day:

Always and Forever – Kip’s wedding song from Napoleon Dynamite. Romantic AND geeky, great combo!

P.S. – Your mom goes to college.

