Tags

, , , , ,

TEDDY BEARS’ PICNIC DAY

Roman was pretty excited about this one, he sent out his evites to all his bear buddies weeks ago. We set up a nice picnic area in the backyard for everyone and all the bears came and partied hard. We served Honey Nut Chex Mix, honey, and only the best beer for our bear pals, Honey Brown and Blue Moon Honey Wheat. Don’t worry I carded everyone, no one’s slipping past me. We also listened to the Teddy Bears Picnic song which was quite humorous to the Romanator. He liked dancing around the house singing about bears, I mean who wouldn’t? It was a successful picnic and we invited the whole gang to come back next year. Here are few shots of the excitement:

Things took a turn for the worst after a little while though and Roman started acting a fool. He’s got a real problem:

(Disclaimer: this is an empty clean beer bottle…..seriously, don’t call Social Services on us. We are not THAT bad of parents.)

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0.99 for the itunes song. I surprisingly had everything else.

 

CLERIHEW DAY

Today is the birthday of Edmund Clerihew Bentley. He made a certain type of 4 line verse poem famous and it was deemed a Clerihew. On this holiday there is actually a specific challenge. I must compose a Clerihew on the following four subjects:

-Write one about a friend.
-Write about someone in the news.
-Write an autobiographical one.
-Write one about a fictional character.

So, here goes….

Jessica Swavely

You soon will have to be bravely

When you give birth to your baby girl

I hope she has pretty hair with a nice curl

Anthony Weiner

You should have been a little bit keener

Maybe you should have kept it in your pants

Then you wouldn’t have heard all those anti-Weiner chants

Hayley Dege

I wished I lived in Fiji

Writing these poems makes me smile

I hope I get to bed in awhile

George Costanza

Can’t stand ya

You make me laugh with your neurosis

I feel like I’m under your hypnosis

How’d I do? I think they are a lot of fun to write. One of the requirements is that they are light-hearted and humorous, I hope I accomplished that.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

DON’T STEP ON A BEE DAY

I was a little confused by this holiday. Don’t step on a bee day? Are they trying to save the bees or something? After looking it up, it turns out it is a reminder to wear your shoes outside so you don’t accidentally step on a bee and get stung. Okay then……well, I wore my flip flops all day instead of going barefoot and successfully did not step on any bees. Yay!

PINA COLADA DAY

If you like Pina Coladas and gettin’ caught in the rain, if you’re not into yoga, if you have half a brain. Yeah I sang the song all day, but only that part so it definitely wasn’t annoying or redundant at all for Rich. We did enjoy a couple pina coladas though and they were quite strong. Always good to have a little buzz going in the middle of a Sunday, am I right or am I right? I won’t lie, I am not the biggest fan of the pina colada drink. But, I gave it a chance in celebration of today’s holiday and it wasn’t so bad. Here are a couple pics of the steps you must take to get your drink on:

Total Cost to Celebrate: $4 for the Pina Colada mix.

 

Song of the Day:

I had to do it….Escape (The Pina Colada Song) by Rupert Holmes. There is a really funny clip from The Sweetest Thing but I can’t seem to find a good *edited* one on YouTube. It’s a wee bit too raunchy for my family friendly blog. So instead, here is a live performance from 1979….vintage!

P.S. – I’m tired so I got nothing funny. Hope your Sunday was as fun as mine!

