Tags

, , , , ,

BIKINI DAY

Oh, Bikini Day. Not going to lie, I wasn’t really looking forward to you. I have not worn a bikini since early last summer and I was pregnant then so it was okay to have a muffin top. I have done a decent job losing all my baby weight, but that was just pure luck mixed with good genes. I am not a big fan of exercise, I get bored and let’s  just be honest….I’m lazy. People told me that after having a baby my body would never be the same. I didn’t really believe them, but it turns out it is in fact very true. Things are just…..different. I guess that’s a nice way of putting it, right? I don’t want to get too graphic here, but all you ladies who have been through a pregnancy know exactly what I’m saying. I also am not a huge fan of dieting, therefore my addiction to sugar, carbs and fast food are also not working in my favor. Damn you Victoria’s Secret models!!!!! No one looks like that in real life!!! Okay, that was my rant for the day. Now, instead of me bemoaning this day I decided I needed to have a better attitude about it. Today is the anniversary of the first bikini made in 1946. Back in those days, I’m sure the bikini was extremely scandalous and only worn by the über fashionable Parisian models. Today, the bikini is everywhere. It symbolizes both the freedom for women to take charge of their own bodies as well as the sexualization of women. Two very different and opposing concepts. I am going to look at it as a positive step for women and be proud of being a bikini wearer today. I was not sure if I was going to make it to a pool today, so this morning I decided to do a mini photo shoot in my backyard. Yeah, if the neighbors didn’t already think I was crazy I’m sure they do now. They probably looked out of their windows and said, “Why is that girl jumping up and down in a bikini?” Here is my favorite pic from the lot:

As it turned out, I was able to go to a pool today after Rich came home from work. See? Bikini Day IS fun! It was also the first time we took Roman swimming in a ‘real’ pool, not a kiddie one. Here are a couple shots of that:

It turns out that sporting my bikini today was a good experience. I am glad I celebrated today in the best way possible. Now if only I hadn’t stayed out the sun the other day I might have been tanner….. 🙂

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

Island in the Sun by Weezer. I know this song isn’t about bikinis, but it is one of those songs that just always reminds me of summer. It’s a nice happy song too, so that’s always a good thing.

 

P.S. – mmmmmm, Rivers Cuomo…..me likey….a lot.

