Tags

, , , ,

INDEPENDENCE DAY

Well, everyone knows what Independence Day is and we all know how to celebrate it. I like Independence Day because it is basically the official holiday of Summer. We don’t have any other major Summer holidays, so everyone uses this day to grill outside, go to the lake or just spend time with family and friends. We also like to celebrate with fire. That’s right, nothing is more American than lighting off bottle rockets while your half in the bag. Coincidentally enough, Rich, Roman and I went up to Rich’s fire station for a 4th of July barbeque. Within 15 minutes of us being there, the guys got a call for a fire. They ended up getting 2 more fire calls today (so far), no surprise people are lighting stuff up today more than usual. We had a good time celebrating with a lot of the other fire fighters and their families. Later in the evening, we celebrated a little more with Roman in our backyard. We, of course, played with some fireworks and Roman was pretty impressed. In fact, he told me that instead of being a Fire Fighter he now wants to be a pyromaniac when he grows up. I have to agree with him that it does sound a little more exciting, but I suppose I will do the right thing and try to dissuade him. Here are some pics from today:

 

That last picture is of Roman ripping my hair out, one of his favorite hobbies these days.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $35 – food for the BBQ

INDEPENDENCE FROM MEAT DAY

When I told people what today’s other holiday was, they were astonished that the ‘Meat Free’ day would be on the 4th of July. I told them that was sort of the point. Today is probably one of the biggest meat eating days all year. It’s when everyone is out grilling and hamburgers and hot dogs are the standard fare. I am happy to announce that I indeed remained meat free today. It wasn’t too difficult to be honest. I am not a huge meat eater, so I didn’t feel as if I was missing out on anything. I actually attempted to be vegetarian once. I think I was in middle school or around there. I proclaimed this new plan to my mom and she responded with a, “Yeah, okay” reply. She knew it wouldn’t last. Needless to say she was right, as moms always are. I didn’t even last 24 hours before I caved into devouring a turkey sandwich. I did a little better today. I said no thanks to this fine spread of animal parts:

Something funny I realized when I looked back at this picture, meat doesn’t look that appealing. If you compare what this looks like to what fresh fruits and vegetables look like, there is no contest. I am a meat eater though, I don’t think I would ever be able to be a full-blown vegetarian. I highly respect those who are though, for whatever reason they choose. I believe that everyone who has conviction towards something deserves to be respected for their opinions. The best thing about today’s holiday is that the best course doesn’t ever have meat in it….dessert! Here are a few pics of me and Roman enjoying some non-meat food items (he chose the healthier option, he’s watching his weight):

I also was happy to participate in today’s holiday to pay homage to the animals we use as food. I don’t like to think about where my food comes from, maybe that’s why I’m still eating meat, huh?

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

Song of the Day:

God Bless the U.S.A. by Lee Greenwood. This one was a no-brainer. I am very proud to be an American and I dedicate this holiday, as everyone should, to all the armed forces out there that are protecting us each and every day. No funny business today.

