Tags

, , , , ,

COMPLIMENT YOUR MIRROR DAY

This holiday is meant to allow everyone to take a look in the mirror and say something nice about what they see. I made a point to not immediately
zero in on all my flaws each time I saw my reflection today. It’s a lot more difficult than it should be. As a woman, we are constantly surrounded by perfection. We all know that behind the scenes magazine covers are being heavily airbrushed and most of the models are either in the middle of a full-blown eating disorder or just on the borderline of one. Still, we want to look like them. We want to be perfect, flawless, young forever. One of my favorite quotes is, “I wish I looked like Cindy Crawford.” Guess who said it? Cindy Crawford. Even she wants to look like that magazine cover…and it’s HER! This holiday is a reminder that today, and every day, you should appreciate the person you are and say something nice to yourself rather than the usual self-loathing. Here are a few pictures of Rich and me with Roman, telling our mirror how awesome it is:

Roman is pretty vain already, so I don’t think he had problem looking at that handsome baby staring back and him and say, “You are a stud”. He knows what’s up.

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0

STAY OUT OF THE SUN DAY

I will admit, this was the first holiday I had a problem sticking to. As a resident of the fine state of Michigan I know those glorious summer days where it is not 99 degrees, pouring rain, or just miserable because of the humidity are few and far between. Today was actually one of those days. On top of that, it was a Sunday…..during a holiday weekend. There is no way to not be outside today. Plus, we had already made plans to go to the zoo with the Nagle family. I am never one to turn down a trip to the zoo, it’s one of my most favorite places to visit. So instead of being a party pooper and wasting this perfect day away indoors like a vampire, I opted to find another way to celebrate. The purpose of this holiday is to recognize that we need to take better care of our skin and protect it from harmful UV rays. Now, I am going to make a confession. I love being tan. I love how I look when I have a tan and I always get a lot more positive feedback from people when I have a little color on my cheeks. No one has ever said to me, “Hey Hayley, nice pasty skin today….looking good!” That is not going to happen. After coming clean with this admission, I will also let you all know that I also feel guilty every time I go to a tanning salon or lay out in the sun without sunscreen. It’s one of those things that I know is bad for me, but I do it anyway. So, in commemoration of today’s holiday, when we arrived at the zoo I proceeded to dose myself with an ample amount of sunscreen. This is not something I would normally do and I feel it still celebrates the spirit of this holiday. I also slathered Roman up, but I am sort of a crazy mom in that aspect because I literally put sunscreen on him if he is outside for more than 3 minutes. Do as I say, not as I do! Yes, I am a hypocrite. 🙂

We also had some ‘shade breaks’ throughout our trip to give our sizzling skin some relief. Here are some nice family pics of us and the Nagle family enjoying our time out of the sun:

As a side note, this was Roman’s first trip to the zoo. Maybe next year he will actually know what is going on!

Total Cost to Celebrate: $0 – I already had the sunscreen

Song of the Day

Man in the Mirror by Michael Jackson. I thought this was appropriate for both holidays today. Michael looked like he started to stay out the the sun A LOT after this video was made…….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9Nh84lfvW0

P.S. – There are some majorly rad bangs in this vid.

